Looking in the Mirror

After waking up in the morning, I tiredly drag myself to the bathroom, turn the light on, stand there and look at the person who is standing there in front of the mirror.

8-woman-smiling-mirror-lgn

Looking into the mirror, I see a reflection of myself.  On some occasions I see the person that I am.  I see a woman who is tired, but happy.

girl-looking-in-mirrorsm

Then there are those occasions where I can look into the mirror and see someone who needs to loose about 5-10lbs.  This goes along with my Body Dysmorphic Disorder.  I have had this since before I could remember.  Running college track didn’t help the situation when your coach is always telling you to loose weight and that you could have won that race if you were a few pounds lighter.  I have done a lot over the years to get comfortable with looking at myself in the mirror and I have made huge strides.  It helps having daughters and not wanting them to ever feel the way that I feel when I look into the mirror at times.

blog2

My goal is to learn to love myself for who I am.  Not who I think I should be, or who I believe everyone else wants me to be.  I am going to see myself in the mirror for the wonderful, strong, vibrant woman that I am.

What do you see when you look in the mirror?

This is was written for the Daily Prompt

Categories: Challenges, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , , , ,

19 replies

  1. Greetings! I found you in Bloggy Moms! I love your post, sometimes it can be hard to look at the mirror and realize that you are not the person you were used to be, or that you are lost in taking care of your family, husband, kids, house and facing this changes in our lives can turn our self in a deep emotional mess.

    • I totally agree! Just when I think I have figured out who I am, something comes along or happens to show me that I was wrong. At least I can say that I am enjoying becoming the woman that I am. It is a lot better than the teenager I use to be! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog!

  2. Great blog!
    Sometimes it’s hard to see ourselves as others see us.
    Cheers!

  3. You’ll always do well and think ,”Who I am”, instead of who I should be.

Trackbacks

  1. Mirror, Mirror | Tommia's Tablet
  2. Through the eyes of others… | alienorajt
  3. Daily Prompt: Mirror, Mirror | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  4. FOREVER FLAWED | hastywords
  5. Of mirrors and reflections | Concentrate On Yourself
  6. Mirror, Mirror:rorriM ,rorriM | Khana's Web
  7. The Clash/Daily Prompt, Mirrors | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am
  8. Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet
  9. Funhouse! | Edward Hotspur
  10. Who? Me? | Words 'n Pics...
  11. Always The Bridesmaid, Never The Bride | Pinstripes&Lipgloss
  12. Mirror, Mirror | The Hickey Diaries
  13. Mirror, mirror | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

