Paying it Forward

When you look back at your life, what would you consider to be the nicest thing you have done?

I know I have done several nice things throughout my whole 34 years of life, but there is one moment that stands out for me.  I seem to always remember it because it reminds me of that movie where the little boy got the whole town to do nice things for someone else, and it just keep going because then that person does something nice for the next and so on and so on.

PayItForward

I try to live by this on a daily basis.  I do believe that if everyone would just do something nice for someone else then we would be on our way to a better world.

So, getting back to the question, the nicest thing I have done happened while I was in the grocery store one morning.  I was running in to grab something for The Boy’s lunch.  While waiting in line I was watching the lady in front of me.  She was clearly stressing and her son was standing next to her waiting patiently for her mother to finish in the line.

Toni, Sydney, Kris Loew

When the cashier was finished ringing the lady up, she told her the price of all her items.  The lady began to look at her groceries trying to decide what had to go.  She looked at her son, apologized and told him she wouldn’t be able to get him his yogurt today.  Of course after telling him this, he put his head down and began to cry.  My heart just broke into pieces.  I told the cashier lady to go ahead and ring up the little boys yogurt with my stuff.   The young boys mother just looked at me and asked if I was serious.  I told her I was and that it wasn’t a problem, that little boys who behave in a store deserve to have their yogurt.  The little boy came from around his mother and thanked me.  My heart felt right after seeing the little boys face as he was carrying his yogurt out of the store.

I truly believe that it is the small things in life.  We should all try and do at least one nice thing for someone every day.

What is the nicest thing that you have ever done?

This was written for the Daily Prompt

Categories: Challenges, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , , ,

8 replies

Trackbacks

  1. The nicest thing I’ve ever done. | Love.Books.Coffee.
  2. To Serve Mankind | The Jittery Goat
  3. Daily Prompt: Nice Is as Nice Does | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  4. Daily prompt: Mirror Mirror | The Wandering Poet
  5. Daily prompt: Nice as nice does | The Wandering Poet
  6. Daily Prompt: Nice as Nice Does | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  7. AN UNDERSTANDING SMILE | hastywords
  8. Nice is as nice does | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

