Getting Things Done

This past week I had a laundry list of things I wanted to get done.  It’s funny that one of the first things on my list was to finish washing the laundry and start folding all the other laundry that I had already washed, but refused to fold.  After the laundry I wanted to finish working on the house.  I have dedicated 2014 to making my house more into a home.  I didn’t realize what a big job this was until I started.  Not only is it a big job, it takes a lot of money to put things into a home.  I guess that is why I never did it before, there were always diapers and clothes to buy.  But now that I have been staying on my budget better, we now have more money to do more of things I want to do.

20140127-081041.jpg

This weekend I headed over to walmart so I can finish my Fireplace area.  I have to break my house down into sections so I won’t overwhelm myself.  I have always seen these plants when I would go to Walmart and I told myself when I was ready to buy plants, these would be the first I buy.  I bought these two plants, the planters and the baskets that they are sitting on.  The basket on the right is covering up the dish box an the plants are suppose to be my decoys in hiding ugly wires.  My husband has stated he doesn’t want to cut into the drywall to hide the cords so I had to get creative.  The ugly paint cans in the picture will be replaced with throw pillow that will furthur help in my quest to hide cords.

20140127-081239.jpg

When I was done with that project, Sunday was the day to do the downstairs bathroom.  I made yet another trip to Walmart to buy shelves, the picture, hand towels, floor mats, and some of the other things on the shelves.  I would love to take credit for hanging the shelves, but that job was all my husbands.  I am slowly working my way into using tools.  I am happy that I have mastered using the stud finder to help hang things on walls.  At the very top you can see the piece of art that I spent the weekend making.  I have to lower it so that it is even with the shelves.  I am looking for a plant that doesn’t need much light to go on the top shelf.

This is just the beginnig of all the projects that need to be done around the house, but I am excited to be slowly checking them off.  It would be a lot easier to get everything done at one time, if it all didn’t cost so much!

What did you want to get accomplished last week? Were you able to get it all done?  What holds you back from being able to get it all done?

The is written for the Daily Prompt

Categories: Decorating & DIY, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , , ,

22 replies

  1. From experience in redoing an 100 year old home. Do one room at a time and one project at a time. http://www.kansamuse.me

  2. A nice fake plants would also do the trick on the top shelf or maybe empty bottles of perfumes 🙂

  3. Funny how once you start with home renos/sprucing it’s hard to stop. We’re doing our ever so slowly. We did our driveway/walkway and bathrooms last year. We’ll recover from that for a while before moving on. Your updates look lovely! Good luck getting it done. It’s amazing what a facelift can do to make you love your home that much more 🙂

    • Yes, after looking at how nice the house is turning out, I don’t want to stop. I’ll be hosting a baby shower at my house soon which makes me want to try and finish the first floor at least. I’m going to try and see if I can do some of it on a dollar store budget!

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | The Wandering Poet
  2. Where walls stand moss will lie 2 |
  3. Why women put up barriers to sex! ADULT CONTENT -Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  4. Life Can Be A Obstacle Course | Lisa's Kansa Muse
  5. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  6. Self Motivation | A mom's blog
  7. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  8. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | To Breathe is to Write
  9. Standing in the way of sushi (blogging) | Happy Sushi Belly
  10. A Day With Chef Rene | The Jittery Goat
  11. Daily Prompt: Obstacle Course | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  12. Obstacle Course | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl
  13. It’s a thirsty man who writes for any reason. [Mama #2] | Rob's Surf Report
  14. I needed it in black ‘n white! | Words 'n Pics...
  15. The Brick Wall | The Hickey Diaries
  16. Some Days, 85% is Good Enough | Pinstripes&Lipgloss
  17. A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Vanquishing Doubt” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

