Lessons Learned

The most important lesson I have learned came from my mom.  After I had my daughter Drama, things became real for me.  The Boy was such an easy baby and child, Drama on the other hand was the child who started the “Keeping You on Your Toes” movement.  As I would get frustrated over all the stages that she was going through that weren’t cute and adorable, my mother would simply tell me to “Pick my Battles!” These three little words have changed my life completely.  It has changed the way I interact with my kids and others in my life.  Now, before I fly off the handle or go into an all out war with the kids I stop and ask myself if this is a battle I am willing to get into.  Is it worth it to fight over something as silly as a pair of pants?  The answer is usually no so I let it go.

I use this philosophy with my husband as well.  I believe family and friends should be honest with you when you decide to get married.  Marriage is not as easy as some of the characters on TV make it out to be.  When my husband does something that I clearly can’t stand, I have to ask myself if this is a battle worth having or is it just one of those things that I can get over.  Most of the time, the battle isn’t worth having.  I’m just use to things being done a certain way and my husband has his own way of doing things.  This is what happens when you choose to marry someone that is your polar opposite.

The good thing is that I am only 34 and have a lot of life left in me.  I am sure there are more lessons out there for me to learn, especially as my four kids hit the different stages in their lives.  I just hope that those three little words will help them as much as they have helped me.

 

What is the most important lesson you have learned from someone close to you?

This was written for the Daily Prompt

 

 

Categories: Challenges, Family, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , ,

13 replies

  1. nice, pick your battles, i’m remembering that one!

Trackbacks

  1. Alles Geben | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am
  2. Best Friends Forever | Eyes to Heart
  3. Daily Prompt: BFFs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  4. The Strength of Family | A mom's blog
  5. When a Polaroid Was Instant Gratification | Vanishing Austin
  6. A Speck Of Green – Part 1 (Looking for Dad) | The Jittery Goat
  7. I shoulda had a MacBook Air! [Sheri #3] | Rob's Surf Report
  8. Daily Prompt: BFFs | The Wandering Poet
  9. A Dog and His Bone | Love.Books.Coffee.
  10. Just A Little… | Edward Hotspur
  11. In Dedication to A Ray of Sunshine | Pinstripes&Lipgloss

Leave a Reply

