Meatless Monday

report_meatless_monday_campaign_overstating_participation_1_635176037209030710

Today was my first day to participate in Meatless Monday.

For those of you who don’t know what Meatless Mondays are, here is the gist.  Basically for one day a week (Mondays) you, or you and your family take the pledge not to eat any meat on Mondays.  This is a movement to help get America started on the right direction towards getting healthy.

I have always heard about this, but after looking looking it up online, I decided to go ahead and take the pledge.  Today was our first Monday going meatless.  Here is the breakdown of what we ate for the day.

20140203-202834.jpg

For breakfast we enjoyed Oatmeal with dried cranberries on top.

20140203-202844.jpg

For lunch I made bean burritos using black bean refried beans, with shredded sharp cheddar .

20140203-203029.jpg

For dinner continuing on with the meatless theme we had spicy black bean burgers with spinach and a slice of tomato.  I had mine with sweet potato fries, while the rest of the family opted for regular fries.

I thought my family was going to give me grief when the finally realized that we didn’t have meat at all today, but they actually enjoyed it.  The burgers were a hit as well.  I can’t wait to see what I am going to make next Monday.

Do you and your family think you can go meatless on Mondays?

If so Click Here and join in the movement to get healthy and go meatless on Mondays!

Categories: Healthy Living

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

