I Can’t Live Without You!

Being a mother of 4 and having to make dinner that will satisfy 6 people can be a bit hard sometimes.  especially when I have two very picky eaters.  The new rule in the house is however old you are, is how many bites you must take before you are able to leave the table.  This has been working for months now.  I no longer have whining children at the table because they refuse to eat the mystery vegetable on their plate.

There is one item in my kitchen that I simply can’t live without.  Can you guess what it might be?

20140209-113748.jpg

If you guessed a slow cooker, then you are right.  I love being able to put everything inside of it in the morning, and by dinner time my meal is ready.  With all the running around I have to do, it is nice knowing that cooking dinner is not on the list because I have already started it.

I have been doing a lot of research lately about meals that can be made in the slow cooker.  If you are at all familiar with Pinterest, you already know that it is like having the world at your fingertips.  I am amazed at all the food that you are able to create in the slow cooker.  Here are a few of my favorites:

Food and the City

Food and the City

The Garden Grazer

The Garden Grazer

This is what I am attempting to make in my slow cooker now:

The Gracious Pantry

The Gracious Pantry

If you find yourself without a lot of time, I would say try using a slow cooker.  It has helped me add more time in my day, and now I can’t live without it!

What can you not live without?

This was written for the Daily Prompt

Categories: Challenges, Family, Healthy Living, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I’ve been trying to justify buying a slow cooker, a good one at least. I just feel like there aren’t enough slow cooker recipes out there. Most of them are just slight alterations to some main ideas. What do you think? Is it worth the investment? I’m usually only cooking for 2.

    • Even cooking for two, it could be useful from time to time if you know your going to have a busy day. For me with a family of 6, everyday is a busy day! It’s nice to know sometimes that when I come home at 530 at night hat diner is already done. I say buy an inexpensive one first just to get started. You can always upgrade to a really good one of you feel it is for you! Have a wonderful day and thanks for reading my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. What’s the big deal about Sriracha? | Rob's Surf Report
  2. Daily Prompt : INGREDIENT | Thoughtless Prattler
  3. Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  4. Made With Love, Always | The Shotgun Girls
  5. Hot Damn! | Edward Hotspur
  6. Daily Prompt: Ingredients | The Wandering Poet
  7. A good knife is everything | "The Ish," presented by the Bohemian Rock Star
  8. Daily Prompt: Ingredients | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  9. Daily prompt: ingredients | ferwam

Leave a Reply

