I did It My Way

From time to time I believe we all look back at our lives and wonder how did we get here?  As I look back at all the crazy decisions I made, I now can see that some of them were good, some were awesome, some were bad, and most were down right dangerous.  I know that it is only by the grace of God that I am sitting in front of this computer writing this post now.

When I was 22, I made the decision to fly to Japan to visit the boyfriend I didn’t want, but didn’t want to loose because I didn’t want to be alone.  That one visit changed my life forever.  After returning home from that trip I found out I was pregnant with my son “The Boy.”  It was my decision to keep him that took me down a different path that I never thought I would go down.

I ended up getting married a few months after The Boy was born.  Then a year later go divorced.  I just couldn’t stay in a marriage where my husband thought it was OK to have a totally different life in a different state.  I guess he was following the zip code rule.  The demise of my marriage took me on a downward spiral that ended up in two car accidents, a roommate who tried to kill herself, a male friend who couldn’t stand that I didn’t like him like that so he broke into my house and stole all of my Christmas gifts.  Several nights of black out drinking, then hitting rock bottom.

Now, I had wonderful people in my life during all of this downward spiral.  Like my parents who basically raised The Boy until I was able to get myself together.  Which sadly took 31/2 years.  An awesome new roommate who not only helped with the rent, but with car payments and the transportation of my son from my parents to the daycare, to his father’s house.

It wasn’t until I decided to get my Pharmacy Tech Certification that I started to pick myself up off the floor.  I couldn’t believe that I let one man turn my life upside down like that.  I passed my certification and got a job at a hospital downtown.  I started drinking less and not going out as much.  It helped that I had a strict schedule that I had to follow, and it’s not easy working with meds when you have had little to no sleep.

Then something spectacular happened. On one of the worse nights of my life, I met the love of my life.  He accepted me for everything I was and going to be.  He was the only person who I have ever told the whole story about my fall from grace.

I have had a really good life.  Even when things seemed pretty bad, I know there were more people out there who had it worse.  If I didn’t go through everything that I went through, I don’t think I would have been at the place I needed to be to meet my husband.  If given a chance to do it all over again and change something, I wouldn’t change a thing.  I just pray that my kids don’t have to go through what I did.

If you could change anything about your life, would you?

This was written for the Daily Prompt

Categories: Challenges, Post A Day Writing Challenge

Tags: , , ,

9 replies

Trackbacks

  1. If life had a restart button | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"
  2. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  3. Shuffling | Edward Hotspur
  4. The Camino Plan | So How Do I Afford This Pilgrimage?
  5. July 30, 2012 Do Over! | 365 Days of Thank You
  6. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | The Wandering Poet
  7. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  8. Daily Prompt: I Did It My Way | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  9. Daily Prompt: I Did it My Way | planningforaccidents

Leave a Reply

